Review: Bully by Penelope Douglas

5

Review Rating: 3.8/5 stars

I’ve been reading a lot of bad-boy and good-girl romance lately. I enjoyed this book, but I enjoyed the others more. But, don’t get me wrong. This book gave me a lot of butterflies and excitement, but I think there was just too much playing hard to get and useless fighting. There are instances that I already get to get bored. But, I was still able to finish this book in a day.

Basically, this book is about the main character named Tatum. She has this childhood friend named Jared. Tate and Jared were friends until they were both fourteen; however, their friendship broke after that one summer Jared got back from a vacation with his father. The parents of Jared are separated…to let you understand. On the other hand, Tate’s dad is still alive, but her mom passed away due to cancer. Which is also why Tate wants to be a doctor one day. She aspires to get into Columbia. Tate is smart, beautiful, and pure perfection. While, Jared was the total bad boy all the books have. Then, after that one summer, Jared starts bullying Tate–spreading she has lice, std, and other things people seemed to believe. Jared is adored by everyone in their school. He is the popular guy you don’t want to mess with.

But as you will read on, you will discover that they have an attraction for each other. Tate actually leaves for France during junior year, but comes back on her senior year. This really messed Jared up cuz despite his bullying, we all know he is madly head over heels for Tate. Tate just got back stronger after France. He fights Jared, and Jared likes that. They both end up giving in to that attraction later.

SO, that’s how the book goes. I don’t think I gave much away. The details of why Jared was bullying Tate was really honestly not that heavy, but it was understandable. Jared has gone through a lot…especially during the summer he was fourteen.

Once again, I enjoyed this book. But, it wasn’t as fairytale-ish as I’d hope. I discovered this book in Youtube. Though I didn’t give that of a high rating, I’m still happy I stumbled upon this book. You can try it as well. It does give butterflies.

All my love.

Leave a Reply

