Movie Review: My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2 (2016)

54.jpg

Review Rating: 2/5 stars

This movie is very light and happy. It’s about family, acceptance, and love. I loved the first movie, and this second one—I don’t love it as much as the first, but it made me laugh a lot. I loved the fact that it was focusing on not letting go of family even if time permits you to. I love the message that families have to stick together through thick and thin. And, I love the fact that it makes viewers realize that no matter how big, wild, noisy and embarassing your family is, you shouldn’t be ashamed of them. After all, they are your support system.

I just hoped that it focused on Paris more, since the story of her parents are over in a different chapter. But, I felt like it was just bringing back the old memories wherein the directors could have made new ones. The problem with the unsigned marriage certificate to make a new movie didn’t move me as much. Though I get the message that love lasts through thick and thin, I still didn’t fall in love with the old grandpa and grandma. But, overall, it is a good movie. But, I think it could have been done better.

Leave a Reply

