Review: Just Friends by Billy Taylor

Review Rating: 2/5 stars

I bought this book because it has been in iBook’s bestsellers for so long. Its even featured in the search option.So of course, months after it got released, and it still stayed there, I convinced myself to buy it in Amazon even if it cost me four dollars.

And honestly, I had expectations from the book, even if it obviously had a lot of grammatical errors. But as I went on and on and about reading it, I just didn’t feel enough for the characters. The book made me feel flat. Sure, some lines said by the two main protagonists were really sweet, but it wasn’t heartfelt sweet that I fell in love.

One thing I didn’t like about this book was the fact that the main character, August Bishop is so annoying. First, she hates it when Ethan Knight is with another girl. She’s a jealous, jealous person. Second, I hate the fact that she knows how she is feeling for the guy, but she goes on and pretends not to feel like that for him in her mind. And third, this book…Ethan and August are only nineteen, and yet it made me feel like they were much much older.

August got a role in a movie called Twisted. And Ethan magically has his own TV show for his magic tricks. And money in this book fell on trees, I’m telling you. It’s all so unbelievable. This book…the plot…is simply unbelievable. And all those magic tricks makes it even more unbelievable because Ethan doesn’t reveal how he does it in the end. I mean, I get how LOVE made him save August who was in the passenger seat during the accident. But…how about the others?

And for the fact that Ethan didn’t even get a tad bit mad for Max about the accident, and kissing his girlfriend? I mean, friendship is strong, but no friendship is that strong.

I don’t know. This book isn’t just for me. I don’t even know why it’s in iBook’s bestsellers…way way misleading.

Leave a Reply

