Spoiler Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Unknown.jpg

Review Rating: 2/5 stars

If there is one truth about this book, it is seriously overhyped. But, considering it is a book written by Colleen Hoover, the person who wrote the amazing book, Hopeless, of course everyone will wait upon this book. And I was one of those people.

I love the cover of this book, I love Colleen, I love that Ryle, one of the main protagonists/antagonist, is a neurosurgeon. I like how I saw how challenging it really is to be a doctor. And I needed my eyes open for that since I am hoping to be one. I love Ryle so much that I hated that he didn’t end up with a happily ever after with Lily, the main protagonist. And yes, I really hate Lily.

I won’t tell you what this book is about and just proceed to spoiling it because I know that’s why you are here. The summary says everything anyway.

If there is one thing that the relationship of Lily and Ryle lacked, it would be honesty. Lily is a liar who is still madly in love with Atlas, the homeless guy..who was homeless once upon a time…and we do not even have a clear reason for that until the very end. Ryle, on the other hand is also a liar…about not admitting his challenging past. And Atlas…well, I never really fell in love with him. How can a fifteen year old fall in love with a guy without a home, his own clothes, and probably a toothbrush?!

I hate how selfish Lily thought like. Yes, Ryle did physically accidentally hit her…but that was because of his trauma with the fact that he shot his brother by accident when he was younger. And besides, if you will notice, all their fights are because of Atlas. Rephrase: How Lily always kept Atlas hidden from Ryle. Now, if there is one thing about Ryle…he’s like super in love with Lily. He even changed his perception of love and marriage and kids and HEA. He is the epitome of perfection! But Lily just ruined him and his temper because she wasn’t honest enough to tell Ryle that she saw Atlas in his new restaurant, that he saw Atlas again when the latter apologized for the scene that happened in his restaurant, when Atlas gave her his number…and even the journals, the magnet..and the tattoo. If Lily just really really really love Ryle, everything would have been perfect.

But we have to admit. Lily didn’t wholeheartedly love Ryle, because every time she would see Atlas, she would swoon over him.

And in the end, she just puts the blame on Ryle. And there was even an instance she placed it on Atlas. I get that she doesn’t want to experience the abuse her own mother experienced, but this was totally different. Ryle has a trauma…and Lily’s dad was just an asshole.

This book was so…addicting to read cuz you just want to reach the end. But the end really disappointed me. And I hate Lily. Err.

To cut it short, nothing will beat Hopeless…or even Ugly Love. This book…I think what it should focus on is about honesty in a relationship. But I get it that abuse should never be part of a relationship either…and I will never want to marry a man who will abuse me. But, maybe I won’t be a liar to my husband either. Isn’t marriage all about being an open book anyway?

Oh Colleen, I really wanted to love this book. But I just feel so disappointed right now. Good thing the cover is amazing. That at least makes it all worth it.

Leave a Reply

